Obhof Elected to Re-Take Senate Reins

On Wednesday night both new and returning Senate Republicans met to informally elect the next Senate President.

It was no surprise that the caucus reelected current Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) to be its leader.

The straw vote will be formalized by all members on opening day of the 133rd General Assembly.

Senate Republicans also elected the remainder of the caucus leadership team for the 133rd by bringing back two current leadership members, Bob Peterson (R-Sabina), as President Pro Tempore, and Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green), as Majority Floor Leader. They will be joined by Matt Huffman (R-Lima), who was chosen Majority Whip.

House Republicans have yet to hold their informal caucus to determine the Speaker for the upcoming General Assembly. By tradition the dean of the caucus calls the meeting for the informal vote. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood), the current House Republican dean, has yet to indicate when a meeting will be called for the informal vote for House Speaker. 11/15/2018