Senator Obhof Gets Promotion


Senator Larry Obhof (R-Medina) was elected Senate President Pro Tempore this week.  Senator Obhof replaces Senator Chris Widener (R-Springfield) who resigned office this month. Obhof had been challenged by Senator John Ecklund (R-Chardon).  Obhof is the favorite to become Senate president next session, when the current president, Keith Faber, will be term-limited. Sen. Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) replaced Obhof as Senate majority whip. Obhof and Manning are good friends of Ohio manufacturing. Meanwhile, Senator Bob Hackett (R-London) was sworn in to fill Widener’s vacant seat.  Hackett had been one of the three state reps in the district.