House Shuffles Leadership, Chairmen


This week the House Republicans made changes in their leadership and in a number of committees important to Ohio manufacturers. Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) was elected the majority floor leader, Rep. Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville) is the new majority whip, and Rep. Sarah LaTourette (R-Bainbridge) becomes assistant majority whip.  Reps. Barbara Sears (R-Sylvania) and Mike Dovilla (R-Berea) resigned from their leadership positions; both are leaving the chamber at the end of the year. Most notable is OMA member Mark Romanchuk (R-Mansfield) becoming chairman of the Economic & Workforce Development Committee.  Congratulations, Mark! Other new chairs of interest to manufacturing are:  Rep. Barbara Sears (R-Maumee) takes over the Insurance Committee, Rep. Mike Dovilla (R-Berea) will lead the Public Utilities Committee, and Rep. Tim Schaffer becomes Ways & Means leader.  Each of the new chairs is a good supporter of Ohio manufacturing.