132nd General Assembly Sworn In


The members of the 132nd General Assembly were sworn in Tuesday at the Statehouse.  New Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) and returning Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) will be leading record-setting majority Republican caucuses over the next two years. In speeches accepting their leadership posts, the lawmakers outlined their priorities.  Senate President Obhof expressed a desire to reduce the number of regulations burdening Ohioans as well as an interest in cutting Ohio income taxes and reducing the number of Ohio income tax brackets.  Speaker Rosenberger said his priorities include House Bill 1 which extends protection orders to victims of dating violence, improving Ohio’s education system, creating a standing committee on long term care, continuing the battle against addiction, and ensuring energy policies are market-based. The General Assembly will go to work on the governor’s budget proposal in early February.  1/5/2017