Tax Expenditure Task Force Seated


A legislative task force charged with studying tax expenditures was seated this week. Created by legislation last session, the Tax Expenditure Review Committee consists of three members of the Ohio House and three members of the Ohio Senate together with the state tax commissioner: House: Rep. Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster), Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville), Rep. John Rogers (D-Mentor) Senate: Sen. John Eklund (R-Chardon), Sen. Scott Oelslager (R-N. Canton) and Sen. Vernon Sykes (D-Akron) The group is charged with evaluating the merit of all tax credits, exclusions and carve-outs. The committee is to make recommendations to the General Assembly when it complete its study. 7/20/2017