Speaker Rosenberger Announces House Committee Leadership


This week Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) announced House chairs and vice chairs for the chamber’s committees and subcommittees. Of particular note, Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) will continue to serve as chairman of the House Finance Committee for the 132nd General Assembly, after previously serving as chair in the 131st General Assembly. The House Finance Committee is tasked with passing the state operating budget proposal, which will be unveiled by Governor John Kasich later this month. Rep. Smith is serving his third term as representative of the 93rd House District, which includes Gallia and Jackson counties along with parts of Lawrence and Vinton counties. Speaker Rosenberger also announced that Rep. Scott Ryan (R-Granville Township) will be appointed vice chair of the House Finance Committee. He is currently serving his second term as representative of the 71st House District. Other chairs of committees of importance to manufacturers: Economic Development, Commerce & Labor, Chair: Rep. Ron Young (R-Leroy Township), Vice chair: Rep. Anthony DeVitis (R-Green) Education & Career Readiness, Chair: Rep. Andrew Brenner (R-Powell), Vice chair: Rep. Marilyn Slaby (R-Copley) Energy & Natural Resources, Chair: Rep. Al Landis (R-Dover), Vice chair: Rep. Christina Hagan (R-Alliance) Higher Education & Workforce Development, Chair: Rep. Mike Duffey (R-Worthington), Vice chair: Rep. Niraj Antani (R-Miamisburg) Public Utilities, Chair: Rep. Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati), Vice chair: Rep. Rick Carfagna (R-Genoa Township) Transportation & Public Safety, Chair: Rep. Doug Green (R-Mt. Orab), Vice chair: Rep. Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake) Ways & Means, Chair: Rep. Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster), Vice chair: Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville) Full committee membership is expected to be announced later this month.  1/12/2017