New Unemployment Compensation Committee Created


The House and Senate this week created a joint legislative committee to reform Ohio’s unemployment compensation system, which has for years been actuarially unsound and has cost employers millions of dollars in federal penalties. The “Unemployment Compensation Reform Joint Committee” will be co-chaired by Sen. Bob Peterson (R-Sabina) and Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton). Other members of the committee are:  Sen. Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green), Sen. Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati), Sen. Kenny Yuko (D-Richmond Hts.), Rep. Bob Cupp (R-Lima), Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville), and Rep. Jack Cera (D-Bellaire). The committee has scheduled five meetings:  Aug. 25, Sept. 15, Oct. 6, Oct. 20 and Nov. 3.