Senate Elects Leaders for the 133rd General Assembly

With the opening of the 133rd General Assembly on Monday, the Senate unanimously elected its leadership posts for the next two years.

President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) was reelected as Senate President. The Senate also confirmed Sen. Bob Peterson (R-Sabina) as president pro tempore, Sen. Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) as majority floor leader and Sen. Matt Huffman (R-Lima) as majority whip.

Huffman replaces term-limited Gayle Manning who returned to the House. Republicans will need to decide who to add to their leadership team, because on Thursday Randy Gardner was appointed Director of the Ohio Department of Higher Education by Governor-elect Mike DeWine.

The Democratic leadership team retained Sen. Kenny Yuko (R-Richmond Heights) as minority leader and Sen. Cecil Thomas (D-Cincinnati) will serve as his number two. Sen. Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta) will serve as minority whip and Sen. Sandra Williams (D-Cleveland) will serve as assistant minority whip. 1/10/2019