Huffman to Lead Ohio Senate in 2021

This week, the Ohio Senate’s majority Republican Caucus unanimously elected Sen. Matt Huffman of Lima as the body’s next president. Huffman will replace term-limited Sen. Larry Obhof (R-Medina) in early 2021.

The Senate majority caucus also announced that Sen. Jay Hottinger of Newark will serve as president pro tem; Sen. Kirk Schuring of Canton will serve as majority floor leader and Sen. Rob McColley of Napoleon will serve as majority whip.

Selected by senators who will serve in the upcoming 134th General Assembly, the leadership team will be formally seated when the Senate convenes Jan. 4. Republicans will hold a 25-8 majority if incumbent Sen. Stephanie Kunze (R-Hilliard) maintains her slim lead over Democrat Crystal Lett. 11/9/2020