House Democrats Elect Leadership

The House Democratic caucus elected its leadership for the new biennial session. The House minority leader is Rep. Emilia Sykes (D-Akron). She succeeds Rep. Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton), who stepped down when the majority of the caucus voted for Rep. Larry Householder (R-Glenford) as Speaker.

Other members of the new Democratic leadership are: Rep. Kristin Boggs (D-Columbus), assistant minority leader; Rep. Kent Smith (D-Euclid), minority whip; and Rep. Paula Hicks-Hudson (D-Toledo), assistant minority whip. 1/24/2019